Skip to content

My Sharona Alperin

May 11, 2012


Sharona Alperin was 17 when Doug Fieger (25), the lead singer of The Knack
met her in a boutique where she worked. She went on tour with the band and
was with Doug for more than three years. Photo is the cover of the single
My Sharona, six weeks Billboard’s Top Single.


Doug Fieger and Sharona Alperin.
Doug and guitarist Berton Averre wrote the song My Sharona
which came out in 1979 on the album Get The Knack.


Sharona landed on the cover of the second album
But The Little Girls Understand.

The song was parodied as:
My Toyota (Bob Rivers)
My Payola (Dead Kennedys’ Pull My Strings)
My Bologna (Weird Al Yankovic)
My Verona (Pearl Jam)
and covered by:
Nirvana
Dandy Warhols
and many more.
Also features the soundtrack of the films
Reality Bites
Rocket man
Charlie’s Angels: Full Throttle
Super 8


Nowadays Alperin is a real estate agent with the domain name mysharona.com

Sharona Alperin was present at the ceremony when Doug Fieger died in 2010.

From → groupie

One Comment
  1. Oh how life changes. There was a small cd boombox in the corner of my Spanish classroom, junior year. I played My Sharona on it everyday before class started. Rest of the class thought it was hilarious. The teacher not so much.

Leave a Reply

